PAYBACK

Hello friends,

HOORAY! IT’S 2021!!! I don’t know if this year will be better than the last, but while it’s still young, there’s hope, and I’m going to go ahead believing that it’s possible. Let’s go 2021!

Is there any better way to kick off the year than with a new book? PAYBACK, the third and final installment in the Deceivers series comes out February 2nd, and I’m both thrilled to share it with you, and devastated that my time at Vale Hall is over. I’ve enjoyed working on this series so much. It called to me from the very first lines, and has held me captive through draft after draft. I never want to leave Vale Hall. (Maybe I’ll go back someday…maybe?)

Thank you, reader, for giving these books a chance. I know they were different from anything else I’ve written—not dystopian or fantasy, but the contemporary retelling of my favorite Norse myth, the story of Valhalla. As a writer, you’re never quite sure where the muse will lead you, and I was taken somewhere I never could have imagined—a school for con artists. Thank you for loving Brynn and Caleb (and Henry—I get the most mail about Henry!). Thank you for putting up with Grayson and Geri. Thank you for screaming at the twists and turns, and leaving me shouty caps messages that I’ve ruined your week (in the best way), and telling me you, too, want to go to Vale Hall. I am so glad this series means something to you.

I’m very proud of this final book. Where most series advance in a linear fashion, this book advanced like layers on a cake (a red velvet cake, to be specific). Everything you thought you knew about Grayson Sterling and Dr. O is about to change yet again. I hope it shocks you—it sure as hell shocked me!

So here’s a bit about the book. You can order it anywhere books are sold!

PAYBACK

Payback-bl

Brynn Hilder has conned a lot of people. From the spoiled rich kids of Sikawa City to her mom’s loser ex-boyfriend, from a motorcycle gang to a senator’s son. If there was money to be gained, or a secret to uncover, she figured out how to get it done. And thanks to Vale Hall and its director, Dr. David Odin, she’s found a family of hustlers just like her.

Together, Brynn and her friends have overcome doubt, deceit, and betrayal to unearth the truth–a truth even a group of professional scammers couldn’t have predicted.

And now they must tackle the biggest con artist of them all: the man who brought them all together.

Buy links:

Joseph Beth Booksellers (I will personalize any books bought here!)

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Indiebound

Kobo

Googleplay

Recorded Books

Macmillan

 

Happy reading, happy 2021, happy everything.

Kristen

SET FIRE TO THE GODS

With SCAMMED, book 2 in THE DECEIVERS series, out for just a few months, it feels early to be announcing another title, but here we are! SET FIRE TO THE GODS is out on August 4th! I wrote this book with the incredible Sara Raasch, author of SNOW LIKE ASHES and THESE REBEL WAVES. We’ve been working on it for over five years and I can hardly believe it’s finally coming out. It’s a dream come true!

Coauthor Photo 1

But what is SET FIRE about? Let me tell you!

FINAL Set Fireto the Gods

Avatar: The Last Airbender meets Gladiator in the first book in this epic fantasy duology in which two warriors must decide where their loyalties lie as an ancient war between immortals threatens humanity—from Sara Raasch, the New York Times bestselling author of the Snow Like Ashes series, and Kristen Simmons, acclaimed author of Pacifica and The Deceivers. Perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes, And I Darken, and The Winner’s Curse.

Ash is descended from a long line of gladiators, and she knows the brutal nature of war firsthand. But after her mother dies in an arena, she vows to avenge her by overthrowing her fire god, whose temper has stripped her country of its resources.

Madoc grew up fighting on the streets to pay his family’s taxes. But he hides a dangerous secret: he doesn’t have the earth god’s powers like his opponents. His elemental gift is something else—something that hasn’t been seen in centuries.

When an attempted revenge plot goes dangerously wrong, Ash inadvertently throws the fire and earth gods into a conflict that can only be settled by deadly, lavish gladiator games, throwing Madoc in Ash’s path. She realizes that his powers are the weapon her rebellion needs—but Madoc won’t jeopardize his family, regardless of how intrigued he is by the beautiful warrior.

But when the gods force Madoc’s hand, he and Ash uncover an ancient war that will threaten more than one immortal—it will unravel the world.

Yes! It has magic!!! I HAVE (co)WRITTEN A BOOK WITH MAGIC!

Where can you buy it?

Barnes and Noble

Amazon

Indiebound

Audible

Google Play

HarperCollins Publishers

I hope you love this new adventure, guys! I can’t wait to hear what you think!

Hugs,
Kristen

IMG_5874